NANTA President Susan Akporiaye, heads FTAN Tourism Laws Review Committee

President,  National Association of Nigeria Travel Agencies, (NANTTA) Mrs Susan Akporiaye,  has been appointed to head a  9- man committee to study and review Nigerian Tourism Development Authority Act of 2022 and that of National Institute of Tourism Establishment,  Act, duly and recently assented to as tourism laws by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja, last week,  President,  Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria,  (FTAN), disclosed that it is imperative and desirable for the Federation to put together tested industry leaders,  technocrats and experts to  look at the laws as they may affect the well-being,  operations,  sustainability and development of tourism and related enterprises in Nigeria.

The committee  is expected to turn in its reports in three weeks and is mandated to critically study the laws and its benefits,  established opportunities created for the private sector, identify areas of growth through collaboration and partnership with government, flag areas of conflict between government and private sector in the implementation of the laws, factor the roles of FTAN and other government agencies on the Council and Board of the two focal tourism agencies and; advise the federation on its position, advocacy,  policies and infrastructure ecosystem needed to enhance the federation’s role in promoting tourism in Nigeria.

Members of the committee include include FTAN President Mr. Nkereweum Onung, Mrs Justina Ovat,  Professor Wasiu Babalola, Dr Belinda Nwosu, Mr Abiodun odusanwo, Dr Kabir Ali, Alex Nwuba( PHD), Mr Samson Aturu and Prince Ayo Arokoyo.

the authorAV1 NEWS

Leave a Reply